Tags

, , ,

2013 seems to be the year of books turned movies. However, I want to read the books first!

1. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

By Isaac Marion:Warm Bodies: A Novel [Hardcover]

When I saw the trailer for this movie I immediately wanted to see it! So for that reason I really want to read the book. Usually, I cannot stand anything related to zombies but this book seems so different, unique, and thoughtful. While on the surface it appears to be a zombie love story, it is more than that. It is the a look at humanity through a character who has seemingly lost his.

 

2. Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

Safe Haven

Oh Nicholas Sparks. I have a love/hate relationship with all of his books. They are romantic, funny, sweet, depressing, and usually tragic. The range of emotions which one must go through to finish one of his books can be taxing. However, I gave The Lucky One  a chance and loved it. So, after seeing the trailer to this movie I have decided that I will give this book a chance too.

 

3. World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

I know I said I don’t like zombies. And really I don’t. But I’m sure because I have two zombie related books on my list, you won’t believe me. However, like Warm Bodies this isn’t a typical zombie story. Instead, this book is a recorded testimony of the men, women, and children who have survived the Zombie War and are now trying to survive in the world which has been left behind.

 

4. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

Beautiful Creatures

This is the first in a series of books following the tale of teenagers Lena Duchannes and Ethan Wate. The series involves mystery, family drama, the South, magic, and romance. I will admit though that I had never heard of the series until I saw the trailer. And like many things, it made me yearn to read the book and discover the mystery behind the story and characters!

 

5. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, Book 2)

Okay, so this is a bit of a cheat. I’ve already read the Hunger Games Trilogy. However, the trilogy was so good it is definitely worth a reread! The movie comes out in November so that will give me plenty of time to reread the series and spend some more time with Katniss, Peeta, Finnick, and Prim!

Question of the Day

Have you read any of these books? Are you excited for the movies? Do you want to read any of these books before you see the movies themselves?

