Tags

, , , ,

As the Christmas season gets into full swing, so does the time Christmas movies playing either on television or copies of family favorite. So, in honor of Classic Christmas movies, I’ve decided to share with you my top 5 favorite Christmas movies of all time.

1. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

The All-time best Christmas movie, Rudolph is a true classic. Made in 1964 the movie has been around for decades, bringing joy to multiple generations. Who can forgive the loveable Island of Misfit Toys? Or the sweet Rudolph who just wants to fit?  Or the wonderfully happy ending were Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer guides Santa’s Sleigh through the foggy Christmas night? Well no one because every Christmas this movie is shown on repeat to children, adults, parents, and grandparents alike to enjoy!

2. The Santa Clause

The Santa Clause (Widescreen Special Edition)

A Classic for the new generation, The Santa Clause has quickly become a Christmas movie staple. While the following sequels were okay, nothing comes close to the original.  The story was funny and sad at the same time and all we even wanted was for Scott Calvin to believe! I’ll even admit, when I was young I had a little crush on the surly head elf Bernard.

3. A Christmas StoryFile:ChristmasStoryPoster.JPG

“You’ll shoot your eye out!” Who hasn’t seen A Christmas Story? Somehow the movie which was classified as a sleeper film became a Christmas classic. The true appeal of the film in my opinion was that every child at some point felt like a little Ralphie. We all had a gift we desperately wanted yet for some reason the adults in our lives said “NO”. Although, I’m pretty sure I was never told because I’d “shoot my eye out”.

4. Scrooged

Scrooged

I was never a fan of A Christmas Carol however Scrooged, with it’s modern twist on the the tail is on constant repeat on television during the Christmas season and my dad loves it. So over the year, this film grew on me and I too have come to love it. And since it is on constant repeat, others must love this Bill Murray film too!

5. A White Christmas

White Christmas (Anniversary Edition)

The only musical on this list, it is honestly a true classic. I must admit I didn’t want to watch this when my roommates insisted on watching it. I’m glad however that they did. This movie is fun and endearing and so worthy watching. Plus, it also has the one and only Bing Crosby singing his iconic “White Christmas”.

Question of the Day

So what do you think of the list? What movies make up your top five Christmas movie?

