A couple weeks ago, Lauren and I shared the top five books we were each looking forward to reading. So for those of you who aren’t big readers or who love movies, we have decided to share the top five movies we each are looking forward to seeing in the upcoming future.

Christine’s Top Five:

1. Warm Bodieshttps://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/9/93/Warm_Bodies_%28film%29.jpg

I don’t like zombies. At all. I avoid all things that have to do with them. However, when I accidently stumbled upon this trailer, I immediately wanted to see this movie. Yes it is a zombie movies but at the same time it isn’t. Based on the book Warm Bodies, this movie also tells the story from the point of view of R, the zombie. This is one zombie movie (probably the only one) which I will willingly watch and enjoy.

Release Date: February 1, 2013
Starring: Nicholas Hoult and Teresa Palmer

Warm Bodies


2.
LincolnFile:Lincoln 2012 Teaser Poster.jpg

Like I’ve stated many times, I love history. This movie looks like a winning combination of history, script, acting, and direction. With Steven Spielberg at the helm of this movie, my expectations are high. This movie has already been out in theaters for a couple weeks and has done really well, only increasing my expectations for when I actually do see it!

Release Date: November 16, 2012
Starring: Daniel Day-Lewis and Sally Field

Lincoln

3. Silver Linings PlaybookFile:Silver Linings Playbook Poster.jpg

What can I say about this movie other than I am so excited to watch it! The movie came out around Thanksgiving and therefore I have yet to manage a time to see it, however, it is on my weekend list. The combination of Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper at first gave me pause, but now it just seems to work. The comedy and drama blend so well in the trailer I can only imagine how well they will all blend throughout the whole movie.

Release Date: November 16, 2012
Starring: Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence

Silver Linings Playbook

 

4. This is 40File:This is 40.jpg

I find Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd equally hilarious. Putting the two back together in their original Knocked Up characters is a brilliant decision. Because I find the characters hilarious and the trailer looks funny, I have high expectations for this movie as a whole to be equally hilarious.

Release Date: December 21, 2012
Starring: Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann

This is 40

5. A Good Day to Die HardFile:A Good Day to Die Hard.jpg

Bruce Willis. For me, that is enough to get me to watch any movie. Adding in the fact that this is a sequel to one of my favorite movies of all time, Die Hard. I ‘m sold. While I have no illusions that this movie will not be like the original or even like Die Hard: With a Vengeance I still have no doubt that I will truly enjoy this movie.

Release Date: February 7, 2013
Starring: Bruce Willis and Jai Courtney

A Good Day to Die Hard

 

Lauren’s Top Five:

I feel the need to preface my list by saying: I’m a nerd.  There you’ve been warned.  My movies don’t have quite the same variety as Christine’s as four of the five are based on books.  Hopefully as least some of you out there are kindred spirits and have been looking forward to these films just as much as I have!

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I picked the book up on a whim a couple of years ago and absolutely loved it!  The modern coming of age story is something of an anomaly lately but Perks addresses several relevent issues facing teens now as much as when it was written.  The movie version has Emma Watson and, personally, that’s enough of a reason to go see it!  Paul Rudd playing the beloved english teacher doesn’t hurt either.

2. Anna Karenina

Another soon to be favorite for me!  The Keira Knightly-Joe Wright combination is responsible for two of my other top movies, Atonement and Pride and Prejudice.  While it’s been years since I’ve read the book I’m looking forward to the adaptation.  The story of an unfulfilled housewife having an affair isn’t an uncommon one in today’s film industry but the Russian novel is so tragically heart-wrenching it’s bound to be a great movie.  I have to admit I’m most looking forward to the costumes on this one though.  Furs and diamonds galore? Yes, please!

3. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

4. The Great Gatsby

5. Arthur Christmas

Question of the Day

Have you seen any of these movie? Did you like them? Do any of them look like movies you would want to watch?

