Tags

, , ,

The holiday season is in full swing . . . is anyone else as excited as I am?  Christmas time is without a doubt my favorite part of the year.  As a kid everyone was always happier and the world seemed to be transformed into a magical winter wonderland.  Now that we’re all grown up it’s easy to get wrapped up in the anxiety and frustration that seems to surround the holidays, but I am determined to keep that childlike cheer alive!  As the big day draws near, here are a few of my favorite things for celebrating the most wonderful time of the year . . .

All things Peppermint and Chocolate

Every year my sister and I look forward to the unveiling of the Starbuck holiday cups and this season’s are just too cute. (I love the winking snowman!)  This year is especially exciting for me because the released the skinny version of my favorite drink . . . the Peppermint Mocha!  Now I don’t have to feel quite so guilty for indulging in this tasty beverage.

 

To go along with my mint-chocolate obsession, I’ve been looking for recipes to add to my extensive holiday baking list and this scrumptious cheesecake from Shugary Sweets looks heavenly!Of course there are other ways to satisfy my craving for this festive flavor combination at home like stirring hot cocoa with a candy cane or using Andes pieces to jazz up standard chocolate chip cookies. The possibilities are endless and oh so delicious!

 

 

Trimming the Tree

. . . and the doorways . . . and the halls . . . and pretty much every other available space in my house.

Be prepared for many a Christmas craft this month, as well as some fun ideas for gathering with family and friends!

Christmas is decorating play-time for me.  I love sprinkling festive additions in with our normal decor but the most important part being the tree, of course!  I love this one from Better Homes & Gardens that we used for inspiration in my parent’s house.  The mix of rustic and glamorous is chic and cheerful!

 

When it comes to decorating for the holidays, I don’t just want to house to look like Christmas . . . I also want it to smell like it.  That’s why I love my Febreze Noticables plugin.  Their seasonal scents are fabulous for filling the whole house with fragrance; I especially love Glistening Alpine because it smells so fresh (almost like we’ve got a real tree!) and my husband likes the cinnamon scents like Apple Spice & Delight.  The great thing about these plugins is that they’re affordable, we can get both fragrances and trade them out all season long so we’re both happy and our house smells fantastic!

 

 

Winter Wear & Festive Fashion

That chill in the air can only mean one thing . . . time to bundle up!  Warm wool coats, cozy scarves, and adorable knit hats.  Oh, and don’t forget the plaid!  I have a couple of great plaid scarves that just seem to go with everything.  If you’re feeling like investing in something that makes even more of a statement a plaid cape would be fabulous too.  It’s easy to stay warm and still look cute with the right pieces.  My advise?  Get a great neutral coat (I love my VS Camel Peacoat) and have fun accessorizing with scarves, gloves, and caps.

 

With all of the holiday get-togethers and work Christmas parties we’ve got coming up it’s a challenge figuring out what to wear to all of them!  This season it’s definitely all about the sparkle, so something like the Lauren Conrad mini-dress is perfect.  The long sleeves balance out the short hemline and if you add tights and some cute ankle boots you’ll look stylish and warm! Plus, fun dresses like this one are affordable so you can pick up one or two for all of your festive gatherings without spending all the cash you set aside for Christmas gifts!

Happy Holidays!

