Tags

, , ,

I was in the mood for baking some festive sweets when I decided to search for a mini pumpkin pie recipe.  I love individual desserts for several reasons.  They make portion control easy, they feel more special than you’re everyday foods, and they’re just so elegant for serving to guests. Although I was exciting to do a little baking, experience has taught me that making tiny treats is a time consuming affair!  That’s why I was so excited when I came across this simple little recipe for Muffin Tin Pumpkin Pies on the Make-and-Takes blog.

They turned out even better than I expected!  So adorable and they were easy as, well . . . pie.

All you need is your favorite pumpkin pie recipe and a muffin tin.  I used a refrigerated crust and this filling from Betty Crocker that my mom always made.  I think next time I’ll make crust from scratch now that I know how simple these are!  

 

Cut a dozen 4″ circles out of the pie crusts with a biscuit cutter or bowl.  I just used a to-go cup because it happened to be the right diameter. Place the circles in a greased muffin tin – don’t worry, it’s supposed to ripple the edges – and prick holes in the bottom of each one so the crust doesn’t bubble. Fill each crust to the top with the pie filling and put in a 425-degree oven for 15 minutes.  Reduce the temperature to 350-degrees (you can leave the pies in the oven!) and bake for an additional 25-30 minutes.  Let the pies cool on a wire rack before topping with whipped cream and digging in!

 Happy baking!

