Tags

, ,

 I like to do my nails once or twice a week as a way to relax. Now that things are cooling off outside my hands can get the worst of the dry, chilly weather so my ritual mani-pedi nights are even more crucial!  While I like to play with all sorts of colors, fall and early winter I stick to dark colors.  Maybe it’s just me, but it seems like we can get away with some pretty vampy colors this time of year.  Here are my top shades in rotation from OPI right now.  

An Affair in Red Square.

As a rule I’m extremely particular about reds.  This shade is universally flattering.  My dad actually bought it for my mom as a stocking stuffer several years ago and my sister and I kept stealing it!  Just a touch of shimmer makes this a gorgeous, festive accent to your finger tips.

 

Russian Navy.

This is such a daring color.  It’s almost black but not quite so it’s not too goth.  I love to wear it matte because it makes a statement but it’s also beautiful with a sparkly topcoat.  It’s the perfect midnight blue for a dramatic effect.

 

Designer Series Illuminate.

I received this color as a gift and while it is a neutral, it’s anything but boring.  The super sparkly, iridescent taupe is ultra flattering and a little more understated if your a more timid beauty lover.

I’m pretty brand loyal with nail lacquers because quality really does make a difference.  $8 might seem pricey for a polish, but when you weigh buying a full bottle versus paying at least double for a couple coats from a professional manicure it’s a no brainer!  OPI and Essie are my go-to brands but Butter London is also fabulous.  They’re all glossy and last much longer without chips and bubbles.  Once you’ve chosen your shade just don’t forget to lather up those mitts with some luscious handlotions to keep them soft and smooth.

Happy pampering!

