Tags

,

I’m one of those people who buys a new book that just screams “Read Me” even though I have 10 books sitting on my shelf at home also screaming “Read Me” yet to be read.
Book quotes

Yep. That’s me. And Lauren. And I’m sure a lot of other people. One problem which arises from having too many books at home to choose from it trying to decide which book to read next. So alas I have had to create book list. Sometimes I follow the list. Sometimes I see a book not on the list which must just forward and I must read now.

So here are my (and Lauren’s too below) top 5 books to read:Love Walked In

1. Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos. I’ve had this book on my Nook waiting to be read for a couple of months now, however I’ve been in a fantasy phase lately. I know this book (and it’s sequel Belong to Me) will be absolutely great because Falling Together, which I reviewed earlier, was a great book written by the same author. So now that I am out of my fantasy phase this book will be pulled up and read this weekend!

The Kitchen House: A Novel2. The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom. There really isn’t much I can say about this book. It’s the recent pick for my book club so I’m going to read it. However this book sounds interesting. It’s not my usual type of book but it has an historical setting and that is a big draw for me!

Storm Glass (Glass, Book 1)

3. The Glass Study Trilogy by Maria V. Snyder. This is the second trilogy written by Maria V. Snyder which stays in the same world as The Study Series which I reviewed earlier as well. I really liked the world and the characters from the first trilogy so as soon as I’ve deemed there has been an adequate break inbetween reading the two trilogies, I’m picking them up!

The Help Deluxe Edition

4. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I loved the movie. I will admit I bought the book because the movie was so popular but it was before  I actually saw the movie. After actually watching the movie it made me really want to read the book!

A Cottage by the Sea

5. A Cottage by the Sea by Ciji Ware. I bought this book on a whim a couple months ago because it sounded great. It still sounds great every time I pick it up, however it is a pretty big book and I don’t have much time so I always pass it up for smaller, quicker reads. This winter though with the crappy Northeast winter it will be read!

And here are Lauren’s top 5:

1. The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling.  I’m sure I’m not the only Potter-head who was excited for the release of Rowling’s first book for adults.  Seriously, does it even matter what it’s about? It’s certain to be amazing writing and the small town politics will make for a fascinating plot.  I had to wait almost two months to get a copy from the library but I finally have it in my hands!  You can expect a review when I’m finished.

2. The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom.  An interesting take on the story of Father Time, I’m looking forward to diving into the latest novel by the author of The Five People You Meet in Heaven.  Albom’s writing always makes you think and with the busy life I’ve been leading lately a book that makes me reevaluate how I think about time sounds right up my alley.

3. The $60,000 Dog by Lauren Slater.  I took a creative nonfiction class my junior year and fell in love with Slater’s witty and poignant style of memoir.  I’ve had so many beloved pets over the years and I know I would do just about anything for my dogs.  This is guaranteed to be a fun read while my pets are curled up at my feet.

4. The Innocents by Francesca Segal.  This is a modern rendition of one of my all time favorites, Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence.  Segal takes the timeless story of love, society, and a healthy dose of drama and sets it in a small everybody-knows-your-business, Jewish community outside London.  I’ve heard good things about it and I’m looking forward to the new interpretation of the story.

5. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.  Yes, this is technically a re-read but everything by Tolkien is at the top of my list!  I can’t wait until December 14th when the new movie comes out . . . I’m already making plans to see it for my birthday.  If you haven’t read it pretty please promise me you’ll give it a try!

So there you have it! Hopefully these lists will give you some great suggestions for books to add to your list.

