Tags

, , , ,

It’s official.  I’ve given up on Texas weather.  These 80+ temperatures are just not cooperating with my need to wear cozy sweaters and pretty boots.  Therefore I’ve decided I will no longer dress appropriately.  No, not like that.  I’m just going to pretend it’s not ridiculously hot outside for October and wear what I want.

Here’s my theory: the sun will take pity on me, melting in my cute autumn layers, and just back off already!  Well, it’s worth a try . . . Isn’t it?

So, in order to avoid a heat-stroke I’m not going to pull out the parkas just yet.  The plan is to ease into the season by mixing in summery pieces with my fall favorites, like so . . .

Always Sun(dress)y

See? Summer to fall with a few quick exchanges.  I love wearing my sundresses almost year-round because the just transition so well.  The light, flow-y fabrics are breezy enough to keep cool and ideal for layering without adding bulk. In the warmer months I’ll wear sandals and a lot of jewelry to highlight my open arms and neckline.  Then things start to cool off, I trade in skimpy shoes for some fabulous boots, throw on a sweater and earrings, then cinch the waist to pull things together.  Here’s the step-by-step dressing guide:

1.  Pick a dress.  Something fairly simple because you’re going to layer this look.  A pretty color is also a plus since we’re going to be adding a lot of neutrals.

2.  Swap out your jewelry.  Bracelets and necklaces are gorgeous with dresses because the add glamour, but they’ll get lost under a sweater.  Instead pick some statement earrings.

3.  Upgrade the footwear.  Don’t get me wrong, sandals can be very glamorous, but there is just something so sophisticated about a great pair of riding boots.  Note:  if you’re experiencing real autumn chill you might want to grab a pair of tights too.

4.  Grab a sweater.  Gray and oatmeal colors are great because they let the dress remain the focal point of the outfit.  Keep the shape slightly oversized and slouchy.  The look you’re going for here is put together but still effortless.

5.  Create shape.  Summer style can be looser and more flowy because you’re generally showing a lot of skin.  Since this fall look it more covered up, a belt is a great way pull this look together and show off your curves.

Of course, if you’re like me and living in a warmer climate you can always make this change a little more gradual.  Maybe just toss a cardigan over your sundress and sandals or wear your flirty dresses with boots to toughen them up a bit.  The possibilities are endless . . . and impossibly chic!

