Tags

, , , , ,

Liner, shadow, mascara, blush, bronzer . . . blah, blah, blah.  As far as I’m concerned, If I’ve got something for my lips you can take the rest.  Okay, maybe not the mascara. I love my mascara, but nothing beats a pretty lip.  Lately lip products are making a comeback and I’m all for it.  With the right formula a pretty lip is the easiest makeup routine in the world; That’s why I’ve always got a handful of stains, creams, and balms in my bag.  Like today . . .

Yes, all of this is in my purse right now.  I like to have options!  That’s why i think lip color is such a breeze.  You can dab it on and, if you don’t like it, just wipe it right off.  Piece of cake.  The other great thing is you can reapply throughout the day.  With other products you run the risk or caking, clumps, smudges, etc. if you try to touchup.  Ick. Not so pretty. These are my current fab finds, and one tried-and-true fave:

1. L’Oreal Colour Riche Colour Caresse in Velvety Fuchsia

This is probably my favorite beauty buy lately.  The formula is so silky and the color is surprisingly subtle.  It glides on like chapstick so it’s a great alternative to traditional lipstick which can feel heavy. Plus, the bright color is transparent but still strong enought to make a statement.  I bought this great magenta color for summer and I can’t wait to try another shade for fall.

2. C. O. Bigelow Lemon Lip Cream

Gloss is a fickle friend for your lips.  It’s pretty and shiny, but it’s also sticky and drying.  I got a full sized tube of this cream in my August Birchbox and it was a great discovery.  I’ve had the mint version for years but this lemon flavor seems much more hydrating and the shine is fantastic!

3. Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus

Burt’s Bees is just plain great.  Their basic balm is the bee’s knees.  Lame joke? Oh well.  I bought this tinted one and it did not disappoint.  It’s just as nice to my lips as their plain old beeswax version but with a little bit of color and shine.  It gives my lips a pretty flush that still looks natural.  Perfect for days when I do a little more eye makeup.

4.  Revlon Color Stay Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Charm

This is such a fun product!  It’s matte finish makes it easy to get away with the bold range of shades.  This  creamsicle-y nude is great with a flirty cat-eye.  As it wears off the color stays like a stain for hours so you can reapply or just slick on some balm.

5. Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter in Peach Parfait

Revlon came out with a ton of new products this year – I’m sure I’ll try all of them at some point – and this lip butter was sold out everywhere I went.  I talked my husband into picking the shade I bought and he chose this sparkly peach.  It’s another one that feels like a balm and keeps my lips feeling soft all day.  Next shade is going to be Raspberry Pie.  “Berry” appropriate for fall, no? Alright, Alright.  Last bad pun. Today.

6. Rosebud Perfume Co. Lip Balm

Right now I’m using the strawberry lip balm but they’re all amazing.  My sister bought me a set of three several Christmases ago and I’m just finishing up the last one.  Seriously, they last forever.  Plus, if you’re going to use any lip product you want to make sure your kisser is soft and smooth.  This is hands down the best product for that.

Time to pick one of these up and pucker up! xoxo

