Tags

, , , ,

I first discovered this book by Max Lucado last year while unpacking the boxes in my husbands office.  The message is simple enough: We love, because He first loved us.  (1 John 4:19 NASB) However, the application is much more complicated than that because, honestly, it can be difficult to accept that a perfect God can love us imperfect humans so completely.

I can’t fully explain how much this book affected my outlook on love through the first year of marriage.  A Love Worth Giving asks the question:  how can we truly accept and reciprocate love from the people in our lives if we’re not first receiving and returning God’s love for us?  The hard truth is, without Him we’ll always fall short in our efforts to love.  Of course, this is nothing new.  We’ve all heard it dozens of times before.  It was an idea we talked about with the pastor before we got married, but this book digs deeper into how far we can take His love in our relationships.  “Living in the overflow of God’s love,” the book’s subtitle describes is perfectly.  While reading, I realized just how much more I could love my husband – and family, and friends – if I was taking time to fill myself with His love too. Yes, it would have been easy begin building our life together on that newlywed bliss, but I’m thankful that I stumbled upon this book just days into our marriage.  It challenged me to go beyond that fairytale love (which, don’t get me wrong, is a wonderful thing) and work to pour God’s love into our relationship from the beginning.

Even if you have wonderful, deep relationships with everyone you know, I recommend picking up this book just to see how much more you can give when you’ve got an abundance of His love in your life.

