I have a tendency to go overboard at Hobby Lobby.  There.  I admit it.  I’m a craft addict.  Now, someone find me a support group or a self-help book or something.  Anything.  I really do go supply shopping with a specific project in mind, I promise, but then . . . well, then I’m in Hobby Lobby, unsupervised.  I blame it on the purchase of my first hot-glue gun.  Bought it for one little book wreath, and it’s been all downhill from there.

That being said, I went in with a game plan Saturday.  I was going to make the leaf covered initial I posted last week.  That’s it.  Go in, grab a wooden letter and silk leaves, get out.  Should have known that wasn’t going to happen.  I got in easily enough, then I got the brilliant idea to browse.  Couldn’t hurt, right?  Ha.  Browsing always leads to ideas and ideas, boys and girls, are very dangerous things.  (Okay, maybe that’s a tad dramatic but we’re talking about art supplies here, folks!)

Oh, what if I added this ribbon . . . or these cute little pumpkins . . . and these candles are on sale . . . maybe I’ll redo the mantel too. 

Long story short, I came home with all of this.

In all honestly it could have been a lot worse.

So, here are the results of my weekend crafting binge. Ta da!

Project 1.  Leafy “P” isn’t going to live up to my expectations.  Make autumn wreath instead. Hint: Grapevine wreaths are super cheap and they make creating fabulous door decor easy! See . . .

Isn’t it pretty?! I sure hope so, because it’s on display for the whole neighborhood to see!  Now on the the rest of my weekend DYIs . . .

Project 2.  Redo the fireplace, just because I can.

Step 1.  The cream candles are pretty but not autumn-y enough.  Add ribbon! (The standard solution to my decorating dilemmas.)

Redo Step 2.  Add new candles to hurricanes and use leaves meant for originally planned DIY.

Ta da!  As you can see I only got slightly carried away.  (I’ll spare you the crazy until Christmas-time.)  Hope you’re all inspired to decorate your own homes for fall too!

 

 

 

