Tags

,

Another Monday

Today was a good Monday. It didn’t start off the greatest but it ended really well! I’m starting to feel the positive effects of working out everyday, I have more energy, I’m eating better, and most importantly… it makes my day better by putting me in a great mood! I wish I could post a cool workout for you guys to inspire you all but alas all I did today was run. Once my PT test is over I’ll start mixing things up a bit…add some more inspiring, fun workouts.

Book Reviews

I have this weird thing about books. Well actually a couple weird things.

book1

There are some books which were exceptions to these rules like Harry Potter. I definitely read those before they were all published and I resisted reading the end before starting Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. However I did wait until the Inheritance Cycleby Christopher Paolini was completely published and the hype had died down a bit. While it took me a while to actually buy the books and read them I am glad I did!

Inheritance Cycle

The Inheritance Cycle consists of four very long books, Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance. The story as a whole starts of kind of slow but towards the end of the series (mainly the whole fourth book) it is all go,go,go with tons of action, fighting and the ultimate conclusion. While some people may be intimidated by the 4-400 plus books I assure you that they are well worth the read… if you are a science fiction nerd like me. File:InheritanceCycleCovers.png

For those of you who don’t know the plot of the Inheritance Cycle, the story revolves a young 15 year old farm boy Eragon who discovers a dragon egg while hunting in The Spine, a forest by his small town. The first book, Eragon, revolves around Eragon learning what it means to be a Dragon Rider once the dragon egg he discovered hatches for him. It follows Eragon and Saphira (the dragon) as they travel the length of their country, Alagaësia, with their mentor Brom and their decision to join the rebellious group The Varden in their quest to overthrow the tyrant king Galbatorix.

The next two books, Eldest and Brisingr, continue Eragon and Saphira’s journey as the last known Dragon Rider and Dragon who are the only hope to overthrow Galbatorix.  During their journey they learn to master their magic, strengthen their bond, and form allies with the other species in Alagaësia.

In the last book, Inheritance, the war has begun. The fighting between The Varden and their allies and Galbatorix’s army come to a head while the ultimate fight between Eragon and Galbartorix finally comes to its conclusion.

Paolini wrote the first book when he was 15 years old and it shows. As we follow the main protagonist Eragon growing up we can see Paolini’s story telling growing up as well. The characters become more real as the books go on. Their feeling, actions, and motivations are more believable and understandable. By the end of the fourth book Eragon no longer seems like a young whiny farm boy who seems to be far too immature and unprepared for his destiny but instead a young man who can take overthrow the evil tyrant king Galbatorix.

Question of the Day

Have you read the Inheritance Cycle? If so, what did you think? Please share your thoughts!

