Tags

, , ,

Does anyone else find morning radio shows a bit annoying?  Maybe it’s just me, but I had a hard time settling on a station when I moved and started making a forty-five minute commute every morning.  I didn’t particularly like listening to the music I’d hear going out in college, and celebrity gossip first thing in the morning was just not my cup of tea.  That’s how I discovered KLTY, a Christian radio station with a “family friendly morning show.”

I didn’t notice at first but that little bit of time listening to inspiring songs put me in a better mood for the rest of the day.  (It also reminds me to be forgiving in the insane Texas traffic!)   I have to admit, I’ve never really listened to Christian music outside of church and Phi Lamb worship.  Even after months of listening to this station on the way to work I couldn’t tell you who most of the artists are; but that’s not what’s important, is it?  It’s been just relaxing to start my days out with God and a good cup of coffee.

Part of the reason I love this station is a short segment they do called The Family Minute with Dr. Bill Maier from Focus on the Family.  They share advice on everything from marriage to parenting to faith, and one piece in particular from a couple of weeks ago has stuck with me.  It’s called “Backpacks and Burdens.”  You can listen to the full segment here (it aired on 9/10), but I’ll give you the basic run down.

Maier compares our struggles to physical burden we carry with us.  We trudge along and sometimes forget how even a small bit of encouragement can help to lighten the load.  The message would be encouraging in and of itself, however it made me realize something about myself.  I do not always allow the people in my life the opportunity to offer their support.  It served as a great reminder that sharing my struggles with my husband and family is not a bad thing.  I don’t have to gripe for hours on end, but opening myself up to encouragement from others can make a huge impact on my stress level in this busy life.

Does anyone else struggle with accepting support from others?  I’m anxious to hear what you think of the Family Minute.  Feel free to share your encouraging stories with us.  We look forward to hearing from you!

(P.S.  Yes, I am using the Beatles for title inspiration.)

