Tags

, , , ,

Remember that saying about little girls being made of sugar & spice and everything nice?  (It’s something like that.)  Well, I don’t know about all little girls, but this one was raised to take that sugar & spice and bake with it!  My mom taught my sister and me to bake when we were young and we’ve loved it ever since.  Actually, love may be an understatement.  It’s more of a compulsion, especially in the cooler months.  I need to bake things.  (Don’t even get me started on our Christmas Baking List.  We’ll save that for later.)

Now that I’m all grown up (Shhh, we’ll just pretend that’s true.) I’m always asking mom for the recipes I loved so much as a kid.  There’s just something about warm, familiar smells wafting out of the oven that just feels like home.  This pumpkin bread is one of those favorites.

The original calls for nuts and raisins and I like it that way, but the husband?  Not so much.  So for his sake I added texture with a basic streusel on top instead.  I also decided to spice things up a bit, adding nutmeg, ginger.  Now, without further ado, my version of mom’s pumpkin bread.

Mix sugar and shortening, then add the rest of the wet ingredients.  Now, slooowly stir in the combined, dry ingredients.  I mean it.  Don’t go stir crazy (See what I did there? Ha.) unless, of course, you enjoy coating your kitchen in flour.  Now, on to the topping . . . Blend together the streusel ingredients until you have pea sized crumbles.  (I had the best luck with a hand mixer)  That’s it.  Pour batter into loaf pans or muffin tins and top with streusel mix.  (Use about a tablespoon each for muffins.)

This will make two loaves or two-dozen muffins.  Bake at 350; 20-30 minutes for muffins and 55-65 for loaves.  It’s done when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Let cool and enjoy!

